Leafing through the options

During my few desolate weeks without the Internet, I was given a rare and wonderful opportunity to return to my childhood obsession: books.

I was lucky enough to pick out a few new books that happened to be fantastic (and unlucky enough to lump myself with one or two clangers!) and also had the time to revisit some of my classic favourites.

The brush with physical literature has inspired me to dedicate a blog to a few recommendable books….

Number 1: Bridge of Sighs, by Richard Russo

I stumbled across this in Eason’s when I was killing time waiting for someone, and although I was a little disappointed with the 50 of the last 60 pages of the book, all in all, I thought this was a fabulous story. The chapters shoot between the past and the present and again between the first-person tales of the three main characters, all of whom are unmercifully tangled in each others’ lives.

It’s a story of different types of love and how different characters deal with each. It’s a story about childhood, adolescence and the ‘later years’. It’s a story about relationships and a story of life, with many underlying themes, all of which are powerfully symbolic. Definitely worth a read.

Number 2: The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield

This is an amazingly clever tale, and one that makes you re-read just to realise how obvious the things you missed were.

The story is about a young historian who is called by an elusive writer to be the sole confident of the woman’s extraordinary tale. You spend the entire time trying to guess the twists and turns, and some the writer will let you have and others you’re made wait for, but this wait is very worthwhile.

Number Three: The Secret History, by Donna Tartt

I have loved this book for SOOOOO many years, and no one I knew had ever heard of it (bar people I’d made read it) until a few weeks ago when I was in work. I was sitting between two of my friends, trying to think of possible birthday presents, when one said “just get the secret history for him because it’s amazing” and the girl on the other side of me said “no way I love that book!!” and I was all “NO WAAAYY!!! I love that book too!” …it was a great day!

And it is a great book, which I’m not telling you anything about …just read it!!!

1 Comment

Filed under General Observations, Pretty Things

One response to “Leafing through the options

  1. Craig

    I love the Secret History too, can’t wait for Ms. Tartt’s newest whenever it gets released.

    Keep up the site, I love the idea behind it.

    Carty

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

