Old Reliable

During a fantastic year spent in Rathmines College, I developed a Thursday tradition with some friends of mine to go to the Kylemore Cafe in the Swan Centre during our 4-hour break that started at 10am.

The Kylemore did this fantastic Student Special where you got sausage, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, 2 pieces of toast and a pot of tea for something like €3.20. Top class breakie right there.

I haven’t been to the Kylemore in the last 3 years, for the sheer fact that I’m never in Rathmines anymore, and I already had set eating places in town.

But ANYWAY, I was in town on Sunday afternoon and DYING for big greasy breakfast roll, which we couldn’t find in the first couple of shops we tried (well they had some deli food, but it was old and disgusting). So in a moment of genius, I spotted the Kylemore on O’Connell St. and dragged my partner in crime into it with me.

Turns out that students aren’t the only ones to get decent deals in there.

My plate was piled with sausage, bacon, white pudding and a fried egg (unfortunately there were no hash browns left) as well as 2 pieces of toast and a big pot of tea, and all it cost me was ………………….€4.50!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AMAZING!!!! And quite possibly one of the best meals I’ve ever had.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

