Just Shut Up and Let Me Go

Is their anyone is Hollywood as odd as Kristen Stewart?

Actually what am I saying? Of course there is. We’ve gone from a Billy-Bob-blood-carrying Angie, to an erratic Courtney Love, to a couch-jumping Tom Cruise and I’ve barely skimmed the list of Hollywood Crackpots.

The difference with these people is that they do have charisma: a certain shimmering charm that ties the public to them and their quirks, making every unpredictable act an entertainment in its own right.

Kristen Stewart though…

I know quite a large amount of people who hate their jobs and quite rightly so. I know people ploughing away in supermarkets or busting their asses in clothes shops for a begrudging minimum wage. I know people dragging themselves into bleak offices and spending the day paper pushing or tracking people down on the phone when all they want to do is be out taking photographs or painting or writing. I know people temping as teachers when they dreamed of being psychologists or international translators.

Yet no matter how down these people get, they never look as constantly inconvenience as Kristen Stewart ALWAYS seems to. You would honestly thing she was dragged kicking and screaming into the film industry, rather than it being a career she’s pursued constantly from a young age.

I never cease to be amazed by how awkward and socially-retarded she is: it’s literally bewildering.

Why is it all she can seem to do is scowl at interviewers whenever they dare to ask her a question? Honestly, check out this short view of her being asked some random questions for the interviewer’s This or That section, and count the amount of times she rolls her eyes.

Why is it that every time she’s asked anything about Twilight she does her trademark eye roll and grumbles about how she hates the book and the film and the fans and the attention? In the interview with Nylon, she says on being questioned about the Twilight madness: “Anywhere we’d go for Twilight was a psychotic situation. The sound was deafening, and it’s thoughtless, as well… You get a slew of all these bullshit questions like, ‘What’s it like to kiss a vampire?’ and ‘How much do you love Robert?’ Then you’ll get one that’s actually real, but you’re like, ‘No, I can’t right now, I can’t even consider [it].”

Really? The Twilight fan base is made up of teeny-boppers who love Robbie P, so of course they aren’t going to be asking hard hitting questions! Humour them, they do pay your wages after all!

The whole teenager-angst act she has going on is so frustrating when she has the potential to give good interviews if she stopped constantly feeling sorry for herself. The following piece of wisdom is from an interview with Cinimatical:

Interviewer: I asked Mr. Pattinson if he ever dreams of being an actor in the era before the internet, as it’s hard to imagine Sarah Bernhardt or Laurence Olivier reading blog postings about themselves. Do you miss that kind of isolation?

Kristen: Yeah; those people were held in reverence — and I’m not saying that’s what actors of this day deserve — but they were kept on — not a higher pedestal — but they were just on a different plane. They were unattainable, and they were only to be understood through the characters that they played. And I appreciate that so much more. You ruin so much, you take so much of the mystery away. Because actors aren’t … we’re normal people. We’ve had, like, sort of crazy experiences that I guess people want to know about, but there’s no reason to be asking them about their deep inner thoughts about life and love and what it is to live forever and stuff like that. It’s like, “Watch the movie and think for yourself, how about that?”

See? Actual grown-up sense.

One last big thing that gets me about her is the physical awkwardness. Now I really will never judge someone for being really nervous and uncomfortable in the spotlight considering I’m the exact same myself. As soon as eyes are on me, I blush bright red and either babble like a maniac or completely clam up. Because of this I would never pursue a career in the public eye.

On her infamous interview with David Letterman, Kristen rolled her eyes, chewed her lip, fidgeted in her chair, barely answered questions civilly and was all twitchy-eyed. In the interview I linked earlier on in the piece, she rocks back and forth in her chair …while rolling her eyes and scowling. Now I knew a few kids like this when I was in school. One of them nearly ended up in prison and another is famous in my area for being a complete headcase to be avoided when possible for fear of personal safety…I’m just saying.

All this being said, if she was a Dakota-esque actress, she could be somewhat forgiven for her anti-social and ungrateful behaviour. However this is not the case.

After seeing the Twilight, I was genuinely at a loss trying to figure out what had possessed whoever cast her. Granted the acting in the film wasn’t high-class across the board, but Kristen’s wooden portrayal of Bella Swan as the constantly scowling and unnervingly-awkward teenager was a Worst Performance Winner by far …even beating off Robbie P’s “Omg I can smell her blood” nose-covering act in the classroom (cringe-tastic!). Every emotion that Bella was supposed to experience in that film came across as one thing: disdain.

A lot of women have been cast in films not based on their acting ability, but rather their aesthetic appeal, and considering the lack of thespian talent bestowed on Miss Stewart, her being attractive might be seen has the boost onto the ladder. However (and please don’t think I’m being cruel) I have never seen her look obviously attractive, so to the list of Things That Bemuse Me About The Fact That Kristen Stewart Is Now Famous is the fact that she is peculiar looking –not in a ‘Man, you uuuuugly’ way, just in a ‘Are you actually attractive?’ way.

Here are some pictures from her past interviews with Nylon magazine, and if someone could solve the mystery for me, I’d be very much in your debt! =D

19 Comments

Filed under Books, General Observations, Movies

19 responses to “Just Shut Up and Let Me Go

  1. Lacey

    well said! I totally agree with you. She is a disaster!

  2. I haven’t known this before, but after reading your post I agree with you!
    Thank you, btw, for that sweet comment.
    xx

  3. In her interview in this month’s Nylon doesn’t she kind of try to justify just why she seems so awkward in interviews….?

    Personally, I don’t like her. And I hated her as Bella Swan.

  4. ChickNamedHermia

    She does try to justify it, but it’s a pretty lame attempt.

  5. Hm, I’m on the fence here… frankly I don’t care too much about actors and actresses in the first place, but I must say in the few interviews with Kristen that I’ve seen, she does seem rather put-out and annoyed. Still there actually are people who do suffer from actual social disorders that in common-words basically make them socially-awkward and a struggle for them to adapt to social situations and communicate with others. Whether Kristen is one of those people, is anyone’s guess, but if she really is ungrateful for whatever success she’s had, then perhaps she should get out of the industry and do something else.

    Anyway, thank you so much for your lovely comment and for sharing your thoughts! ❤

    xoxo,
    S-C

  6. Actually… HOW WEIRD ARE HER EARS?!?! She should not wear her hair up… ever….

  7. ChickNamedHermia

    Huh ….oh yeah ….pfft ….what else will she do wrong…?

  8. Kristen’s movie, The Cake Eaters is now being sold at http://www.thecakeeaters.com. It might be her best role ever!

    They are giving away free movie posters with the DVDs and selling some that Kristen signed! Check it out.

  9. Ace

    I can’t say that I like Kristen Stewart. Harping on her acting and awkwardness is one thing, but you when call her unattractive it sounds like you’re “hatin'”, because she’s actually very pretty.

  10. ChickNamedHermia

    Ace, if you read the piece properly, you’d see I never said she was unattractive. Here is what I said:

    “However (and please don’t think I’m being cruel) I have never seen her look obviously attractive, so to the list of Things That Bemuse Me About The Fact That Kristen Stewart Is Now Famous is the fact that she is peculiar looking –not in a ‘Man, you uuuuugly’ way, just in a ‘Are you actually attractive?’ way.”

    I don’t think that coment is “hatin'”. Most actresses (esp up-n-coming young uns) are obviously attractive and I always thought she looked strange! It was a musing, not an OMG Kristen is so freakin’ ugly!!!!

  11. Ara

    haha, that was funny to read, and yes, she is kind of strange, but maybe it’s partly an act? she wants to be strange… I loved the film though. 🙂

  12. I completely 100% agree. She’s a terrible actress to boot. I was cringing watching her in Twilight. Ahh that sputtering, stammering, …she was like a female Hugh Grant except he’s charming.

    I don’t like the character of Bella for a start but Ms Stewart seems to portray a very weak woman on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

    How the hell is she supposed to be so attractive to other characters? She’s not even funny when they claim she is. Have I missed something?!

  13. Ace

    You know, I’m watching the letterman interview right now and she doesn’t seem that bored she just definitely seems awkward but not rude. She actually seems rather down to earth and honestly, the questions are a bit ridiculous. To each their own, and I see where your opinion comes from but she still seems to me just kind of like a normal chick.

  14. Hey there,

    She’s not TOTALLY hideous, physically, however…

    If she’s counting on her looks to make up for her BLATANT lack of acting ability, may God bless her. Because she’s have to be an absolute blow-away bombshell stunner to balance out the fact that she can portray but a single emotion – like you said – utter disdain.

    I do understand her social awkwardness, people are shy, people are awkward, people fidget. But every starlet known to man passes through vigorous posing classes/press relations classes etc etc. before being thrust upon the very unforgiving public. Someone should have warned her that with the million dollar pay cheque comes a bit of attention. Bet she wouldn’t hand back the cash in exchange for her returned privacy… If she would, I’d happily refund her and have her out of the world’s hair forever.

    Amen. 🙂

  15. Mark

    Wow, everyones pretty harsh here.. As for her not being attractive..woah seriously you must either all be girls or gay.. Shes stunning, theres something about her too, she doesnt seem so shallow or generic as many other pretty faces. Obviously I dont actually know her, but its just the impression i ger..

  16. She was honestly better in catch that kid.
    I agree with you, and I have to say some of the better talent in twilight was from the minor characters.
    ~LittleOwl

  17. Pingback: Your Favourite Posts « A Chick Named Hermia

  18. Pingback: Je ne comprend pas…. | A Chick Named Hermia

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

