I’m back!!!

Hello Dearies!

That’s right, I’ve returned to the blogosphere and after spending the last two hours catching up on your lovely blogs, it’s time to post about my beautiful Parisian week!

Wow, it was amazing!!!!

I absolutely lovered it!!!

And the weather was fab, which makes my previous meltdown post over possible rain look a tad silly!lol!

Anyhoo, our hotel was gorgeous, and if you’ll please examine Exhibit A, you’ll see what our view was:

That’s right, we were a two minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe and about 5minsfrom the Champs Elysees!

Faboosh!!! Right in the heart of Paris!!! We couldn’t believe our luck!

So what can I say? I’m ashamed to report I did NO clothes shopping! We only had four full days and as I’d never been to Paris before, I was reluctant to abandon the beautiful sights for some clothes! Plus I’m a sucker for the impulse buying and that hardly ever ends well, and once I’m somewhere new, I’m too flustered to shop properly, so I do tend to avoid over-seas shopping!

Plus it was a Me and The Boy holiday so it hardly seemed fair to have him waste his precious holiday time standing in girly clothing stores (although he did offer quite a bit, suspicious at my lack of ‘Ooooo look at that dress’ and ‘Omg, that top is AMAZING’!lol!)

So we did the touristy things and went to the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe:

We also headed to Notre Dame at the request of The Boy, who wanted to reenact a childhood experience, and who neglected to remember how FRICKIN’ TERRIFYING AND WINDING AND HIGH THE STEPS GO!!! This ended in me hyperventilating in the middle of the tower and having to sit down for about 15 minutes afterwards just to stop my legs trembling (needless to say, I didn’t venture to climb La Tour d’Eiffel). However, the church was beautiful and I did get some great shots from the top of the tower:

And then there was the Louvre, which took up the majority of our second afternoon, quite a lot of memory on our cameras, resulted in some hilarious videos and we STILL didn’t get to see it all!!! It really is breathtaking:

Egyptastic!

While I didn’t indulge in any clothes shopping, we both got some great souvenir shopping done. Purchases include the must-have beret, a Moulin Rouge Pill Box, an adorable musical carousel, posters, gargoyle statues, an Edith Piaf CD boxset (thank you Greg) and a gold-plated hieroglyphic snuff box!

That reminds me, we found the Moulin Rouge:

Woohoo!

Wow, ok we did and saw so much it’s impossible to do it all justice, so in summary:

Some Highlights of the Trip:

.The fact that the majority of what we ate was Italian food which was AMAZING and far superior to anything we ate in Venice. Here’s a picture of our local bistro where we consumed large portions of unbelievably great pizza…

.All the amazing places we went, some of which I’ve mentioned, and others like the Sacre Coeur,and the Seine.

.The fact that the meal with The Boy’s French Family went really well!

.Laughing at my attempts at French.

.The croissant and coffee breakfasts.

.And the ultimate highlight, which was realising La Chat Noir is still around and getting to eat crepes in it:

A Few Minor Lowlights:

.Mistaking the Eifel Tower for a telephone mast.

.Having the majority of people working in shops and restuaurants be terribly rude to us and make us feel like smelly poos.

.And looking like this in nearly every photo taken of me (lol, actually that was really funny) ….

Lol, Oh Catherine!

Anyhoo, yes Paris Trip can be deemed a complete and total success!!!! Can’t wait to go back!!!!! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Daily Update., General Observations, Music, Photography, Pretty Things

7 responses to “I’m back!!!

  1. how could you forget D69 😛 *hug*

  2. oh the pictures are gorgeous!!
    I love them, seems like you had tons of fun. I am so happy for you!
    I am glad you’re back!

  3. Why did this have to be the first post I read on a Monday morning ?

    It sounds wonderful. I’ve only been once but what a city. I would love to live there, even if only for a little while.

    Did you go to the Moulin Rouge show?

  4. it looks like you had an amazing time – i’m very jealous! i love your notre dame and chat noir pictures xx

  5. How wonderful! Glad the meal with the boyfriend’s family went well. 🙂

  6. BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS!

    Damn you, Greg… IT SHOUDA BEEN ME!

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

