A party with Me…

While carrying out my daily browsing of The Clothes Horse, I came across a post she featured on a fellow blogger’s dream party. It was a fantastic concept and I couldn’t resist borrowing the idea, so now that I’ve received her blessing, here is my dream party:

What type of party is it? It’s Alice in Wonderland themed: a party that embraces the weird, the wonderful and the downright strange…

Who’s invited? Zooey Deschanel, Debbie Harry, Emma Watson, Judy Garland, Buffy Summers, Audrey Hepburn, Lady GaGa, Billie Holiday, Edith Piaf, Kate Winslet, Peaches Geldoff, Emily and Lorelai and Rory Gilmore, Kirsten Stewart, Atticus Finch, Dakota Fanning, Beatrix Potter, Elizabeth Bennett and Mr Darcy, Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Anne Hathaway, Meryl Streep, Edward, Emmet, Jasper and Alice Cullen, Journey, Bruce Springsteen, Dumbledore, Henry DeTamble, Harry and Sally, Dylan Moran, Kristen Chenoweth, JK Rowling, Stephen Fry, the original cast of Spring Awakening, Ashley Olsen, Sean Lemass, The Breakfast Club, Michael Collins, Alan Rickman, the Goonies, Daniel Larusso, Mr Miyagi, Neil Patrick Harris, Marlon Brando, Vivienne Leigh, Bette Davis, Carey Grant, Frank Sinatra, The Bangles, Jo March, Dickon ….oh and Alexa Chung so Lyndsay is kept entertained!

Where does it take place? It would take place in an old country house that’s filled with dark-wood panelling, giant wardrobes, antique vases, old carousels and secret passageways. Melting clocks, old bicyles and chairs hang from the celings. Dining tables and old chairs are lined up in the garden, with grandfather clocks, old record players and bathtubs dotted between them, all lit up by hanging fairy lights. The attic is off-bounds….

What are you serving? Tea, sandwiches, cakes, pink and white lemonade.

Who would get to sit next to you (and why)? Oh I’d get to sit beside everyone, because after you’ve been sitting down for 5mins, everyone has to jump up and sit in a new seat!

What is the theme or what is everyone wearing? Anything eccentric and creative. Crazy colours in people’s hair, ripped tights, petticoats, vintage jewelery, lace gowns teamed with biker boots, dining jackets covered in giant coloured buttons, big hats, whatever makes you feel like you’re teetering on the edge of sanity.

Are there any party favors? Everyone gets an antique teacup and saucer to take home. People will be carrying around old-fashioned cameras with the giant smoking flashes and handing out the sepia-toned photos and portraits to the guests as keepsakes.

What are the hot topics of the evening? Literature, the meaning of anything, photography, comparing toe sizes, what secret messages you’d hear in each record if it was played backwards, competitions to see if you can remember the greatest amount of film quotes, who can do the best impression of Marlon Brando’s Don Corleone, giving names to stars, everything and anything!

Who is the last to leave? Stephen Fry because can’t stop debating with people, and is currently trying to convince Ashley Olsen that Donatella Versace is a messed-up, no-talent nobody.

Who is the most likely to get drunk and dance on the table? Edith Piaf and Debbie Harry, at which point they start dueting!

19 Comments

Filed under Books, Fashion, Movies, Music, Photography, Pretty Things, Random

19 responses to “A party with Me…

  1. Can I go? I want to buy Neil Patrick Harris a drink

  2. All drinks will be free ….you can just fetch him one if you like!

  3. Damn! You throw a good party ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Best party ever! I love the pics you chose.

  5. Am getting married next year and sounds just like our wedding plans : )

  6. That was a great interview TheClothesHorse did. Love your party, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. your dream party is great!!! i hope i would be invited too ^^
    (i would LOVE sharing the table with Edith Piaff, Beatrix Potter and Edward Cullen :D)
    actually, i liked chanel collection, but, to my mind, it doesn’t really seem a haute couture collection… but i liked it ^^!

    PL ♥

  8. this was one of my very first blog posts!
    http://kissesandcrossstitches.blogspot.com/2008/11/dream-dinner-party-credit-to-vogue-uk.html
    yours is much better though! lovely ideas, amazing guests -edward cullen โค
    i love the setting, i want to go to an actual dinner party at that house! and what everyone is wearing sounds magical! I want to see a photoshoot based on it actually!!

    xxx

  9. eimearryan

    Haha, fantastic. I would enjoy seeing Buffy slay the Cullens. Okay, maybe Jasper can live. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. wow, what a guest list! that is definitely one party i’d love to attend! great idea

  11. Damn, I should have got you to plan my 21st haha. Love the teacup idea – the perfect party favour!

  12. hello ๐Ÿ™‚

    firstly, thank you for all the lovely comments you’ve left on my blog posts. it’s lovely to know people are reading ๐Ÿ™‚ and thank you for the links for the Alice in Wonderland pictures, it was most helpful ๐Ÿ™‚ it means I have the link safe so I can do a blog post later on it (I am terrible with losing links).

    there is no harm at all in blogging about how lovely your boyfriend is ๐Ÿ™‚ and you’re very lucky and even luckier he got you so such a lovely necklace. It’s very very very beautiful and I may go insanely mad with jealously ๐Ÿ˜€

    I have changed my blog name and banner thing… but for the last time!!! I have hit upon a name I am finally content with. It has satisfied my inner perfectionist. Plus thank you for updating the link on your blog with the new name ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care dearie

    x

  13. P.S Your party is just perfect. And well done for selecting Stephen Fry and Buffy Summers. Those ones just slipped my mind. I can just see them over a glass of champagne, debating the merits of kicking vampire ass ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Argh I know this is my third comment but I just realised you’d left another comment I just read there. The dissertation books… mine I like because I chose it but my sister’s ones, she’s not too keen on them :S

    Thank you for the congratulations about my exam results ๐Ÿ˜› I can breathe a bit now, now they’re back.

    Plus I love Beatrix Potter. I’m glad you wave the Potter flag as well ๐Ÿ˜›

    x

  15. That’s one party I’d love to attend. It sounds marvelous.

  16. This whole post is filled with awesomeness.

  17. ♥ i love this!!!! I have to do one of my own, J’adore!!!
    *imagines a drunk edith piaf & debbie harry together*

  18. omg i love this this is awesome im going to check out the other blog u mengtioned i so wanna go to this party or be a fly on the wall

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

