But the secret is still my own….oh no, wait….

So as I walk into work this morning, Alone starts playing on my iPod.

I am a complete sucker for a power ballad, so noting that there was no one around, I commenced my three-floor climb and began power-miming.

ie: miming along to the song in an incredibly passionate manner.

It was a silent performance, if you will.

Swinging around the banister onto the first floor, I put my heart and soul into this gloriously spontaneous private burst of silent singing:

“Til nooooooow, I always got by on my.…..shit…”

There was a courier standing at the top of the stairs, trying not to stare….

28 Comments

Filed under Daily Update., Music

28 responses to “But the secret is still my own….oh no, wait….

  1. SCUNDERED! I’m mortified for ye Hermia! lol

  2. Sarah Hannah

    i do this all the time.

    i love it when im driving and i can see other people singing their little hearts out in the car, with with windows down, so it looks like they are miming. only you can tell what song they are singing along too, because its on the radio and you are too

  3. It happens 😛 to most of us actually. don’t worry 😀

  4. clara

    ahh i always find if you look at the funny side of the situation you can enjoy the whole experience that much more, cos it gives you a really funny memory to look back and giggle about 😀

  5. @Karolina @Clara…. Lol, I really don’t mind….it was just one of those Oh Crap moments, but sure he got a laugh out of it!!!

  6. CONGRATULATIONS on being a Finalist for the Irish blog Awards!!! You deserve it!!

  7. hehe aww!! I’ve had this happen. It’s funny!

  8. It’s worse when you’re hungover, curtains drawn, y-fronts on (optional) giving it thug passion or air guitar to music the TV licence man isn’t supposed to know you like.

  9. This always happens to me! Especially in the car or when I’m in my own world listening to my ipod on the bus!! Cringe!!!

  10. Eve

    Sounds like everyday of my life! Hahah.

  11. Ohmigosh I just adore you for this. Especially due to the fact that two days ago I was in a store, and Heart’s “Alone” came on and I literally started singing the chorus as I walked up and down the aisles. Loudly. I’m embarrassed even of myself sometimes!! 🙂

  12. looks like I am in trouble for preferring coffee! Haha I know…there are those moments when I feel like wanting tea so bad! And no, I haven’t tried Irish tea

  13. Hey darl! Just letting you know that i’m hosting a giveaway at my blog at the moment, and would love for you to enter! http://trishiekoh.blogspot.com/2010/03/picos-skirt-giveaway.html

  14. I have decided what I am going to say when I pick up your award

    “I’m not Hermia. THIS is Hermia (and that’s when I’ll hold up a photo of you). I promise I am not hear to steal her award. She couldn’t be here tonight but if you shut up for a moment you can probably hear her squealing with happiness having just recieved a tweet about her win. On behalf of Miss Hermia I’d like to thank the organisers, the sponsers, the judges, the readers and you. She loves you all and thinks you look very nice tonight. It is her PERSONAL opinion of course. See what I did there? Um…yes. Thanks!”

    • Sounds great!!! You should probably mention by charm and grace though…..and my amazing lasagne-making abilities……and I’d appreciate some tears on your part, ye know, to highlight to devotion of Hermia Readers….. 😛

  15. I will also learn how to spell ‘here’ *slaps forehead*

    I’m not Hermia. THIS is Hermia (and that’s when I’ll hold up a photo of you). I promise I am not here to steal her award. She couldn’t be here tonight but if you shut up for a moment you can probably hear her squealing with happiness having just recieved a tweet about her win.
    I…*sniff*…I…*sob*…I’m HONOURED to accept this award on her behalf. She is an incredibly charming, graceful and caring individual for giving me the very PRIVILEGE of representing her army of devoted followers this evening. This wonderful experience is only equal to the amazing lasagne that she makes.
    On behalf of Miss Hermia I’d like to thank the organisers, the sponsers, the judges, the readers and you. She loves you all and thinks you look very nice tonight. It is her PERSONAL opinion of course. See what I did there? Um…yes. Thanks!”

    Edited ^

  16. Your blog is gorgeous.

    I mean it’s a bit gay and all, being so girlie.

    But it’s still gorgeous.

  17. haha! that made me laugh. thanks!

  18. whisty

    Power-miming! You have a name for it, that thing that until now I thought I was the only ‘performer’ of! Oh joy! I am not alone… (though prefer to be when ‘performing’) Blushing for you dear Hermia! x

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

