Whispers of an idea

It might seem like a contradiction, but recently I’ve been feeling that there’s a need for more anonymity in the blogosphere.

That’s crazy talk, Hermia!

You can be whoever you want to be on the internet!

But a lot of people like myself didn’t feel a need to be anonymous when they started blogging and were open about who they were and didn’t mind friends and family reading.

The thing is though sometimes you have a bad day or a bad week or a bad month, and you feel like you’ll explode if you can’t tell someone about it!

You want feedback, you want sympathy, you want advice, but you don’t want anyone to know to know about this issue, in case you hurt someone’s feelings or makes things worse or feel like people will think badly of you.

Sure you could start a whole new anonymous blog, but it could take months and months to build up a readership and you need some support and advise NOW.

So you bottle it up.

But what if you didn’t have to?

I’ve been a-thinking and have decided that I would like to help out fellow bloggers who need to vent but can’t.

Keeping things to yourself can be dangerous but sometimes you feel trapped into keeping quiet.

So what if A Chick Named Hermia became of forum for these necessary vents?

It could also be the place to tell your secret stories; the ones that eat you up but that can’t bring yourself to tell anyone.

Obviously this is all about anonymity and I spent a good bit of time trying to figure out how to achieve this.

Luckily, I had a vague memory of coming across a solution to anonymous posting at some stage in the blogosphere and this problem was solved.

I could  set up an email address.

I’d publish the username and password, you guys could send your posts from that anonymous email account to mine and then delete it from the Sent Items, and voila, your story has been published, you’re getting the support you need and no one knows who you are.

And so, a tiny idea has been formed.

What do you guys think?

Note: Just to put your fears to rest, I’m not planning on scrapping normal posting for Hermia. I’ll post as usual and then baby once or twice a week I’ll have one of these anonymous posts.

Also it’s been suggested that I FormSpring instead of an open email address to protect identities, which is a great idea!

18 Comments

Filed under General Observations

18 responses to “Whispers of an idea

  1. It might be easier to set up a http://www.formspring.me account people can submit things to anonymously rather than an email address, which can be easily tampered with. With formspring, you can republish it here too. Quality idea though. Kinda reminds me of one of my favourite websites… http://www.youareallcunts.com/

  2. emilycross

    NotRuairi – that looks excellent, may check it out myself.

    Hermia – I get what you mean, ironically although emilycross is a pseudynom it’s not anonymous (in the sense that some day I want to be published under that name) so i still have be careful of what I want to say. Sometimes when I read something utterly crap or want to vent, I would love to just let rip but don’t cause I know it’ll bite me in the arse someday.

    I think it sounds like an interesting Idea, but if i was you I would perhaps not post them up here, i think it would ruin the ambiance of your blog (which isn’t negative). you strike me as a very positive person, and I don’t think you should do anything in haste, especially when their might be other things influencing your decisions – such as your fight with X, which must be taking it’s toll on you – and the fact that you feel restrained in venting because X (family and friends) more than likely regularly looks at this blog. As well as that, although I’m all for venting – there is a difference when it’s up on the internet, and you never know when that might bite you in the arse down the line.

    But you say you need advice and feedback but you’re worried about having to build up a blog, well if you wanted to set up an anonymous blog, then ask those who’d be interested in following this anonymous one to email you directly – you can email back your new blog address to those who aren’t friends/family – then we can follow that?

    Or use the comments to email those who comment regularly and who don’t know the real you? You could set up a new account like blogger but keep most of your readership? And have it completely seperate from this blog except for the fact that you’ll have some cross readership, but it won’t matter as we don’t know you from eve anyway.

    Does that make sense? My brain is half dead from study . . .

    • Hey Emily….it actually wasn’t my experience that made me think of this….it’s just coincendence that I happened to start implementing it this week! I’ve actually been thinking about this for a couple of months, when I read a blog (that I read a lot) where the blogger was saying she was so down and had something bothering her that she wanted to get off her chest, but didn’t want anyone she knew to read about it, and quite frankly, didn’t want anyone to associate her with the issue! Since then, I’ve read a fair few posts where bloggers were saying they wished that people from their lives didn’t read their blogs cos they felt constricted in what they wrote!
      So as you see, starting a blog that requires invites means that people you know (even online) will know it’s you talking!
      This project is for people that have one thing they want to get off their chest, not necessarily the person who wants a diary!
      Oh and don’t expect that all the stories I’d get from this are sad! Some would be funny or witty ….it’s basically just a chance to rant and not be judged, lol! Plus I don’t think I’d get too many submissions, so I’m reluctant to start a new blog that would be infrequently updated, because people just wouldn’t get into the habit of reading it and again, the writers wouldn’t get the feedback they need! Like Diamonds was a great project, but very few of my regular readers kept up support for it because it wasn’t updated daily and they weren’t used to factoring it into their daily blog monitoring schedules!

      • emilycross

        Aw fair enough – sounds like a grand idea then, especially after putting consideration into it, apologies for my analytical ways lol.

        Nature of the beast that is me lol.

        Well, you have my support anyhoo 🙂

  3. It could be like a longer winded FML eh? Count me in!

  4. I like this idea! I LIKE your ideas! 🙂 xx

  5. Totally up for this…like that text from the weekend heehee

  6. Clara

    That’s an amazing idea, Hermia! :O Though an email might not be the best way to go about this, it’s still an amazing idea. And I know how you feel, when you just need to blog about something but you can’t have your friends or family reading it because they might get hurt or upset. ‘Tis why I have one of my blogs hidden from the interwebs, rofl.
    Again, great idea. :3
    xx

  7. I like the idea, but I’m not crazy about anonymity. I think your family and friends will love you no matter how cross you may be with them. I mean, as long as you’re not drudging up their secrets or calling them horrible names, you have the right to express you feelings.

    • It’s not that they won’t love you, but nobody likes to see bad things written about them in print and most people don’t feel comfortable writing about certain feelings or periods of their lives for fear of judgement or even embarrassment!

  8. Eve

    It’s a really good idea, but then again, you’d have to keep your lovely posts as well!

  9. I adore this idea….
    ~LittleOwl

  10. Sarah Hannah

    formspring for sure! but what about you? you’re the one who needs the venting!

  11. Pingback: A fantastic idea! « Livi

  12. Pingback: Secret Stories « A Chick Named Hermia

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

