And now the dudes are lining up cause they hear we got swagger

Me and The Boy are tapping away at out laptops on the couch. Kesha’s Tik Tok is playing in the background

The Boy: Who’s Poleesha?

Me: Huh?

The Boy: Poleesha…who is it? Or what?

Me: Poleesha? What?

The Boy: *rolls eyes* The song “Poleesha us down, down, Poleesha us down…”

Me: *spends a minute wondering if he’s lost his mind….and then the pieces click into place* BAH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA…!!!!

Five Minutes Later

Me: HA HA HA…*wipes tear from eye* That’s gas.

The Boy: What!???

Me: It’s Police.

The Boy: Huh?

Me: “The Police shut us down”…not Poleesha.

The Boy: *pauses* Oooooooh right. You’re putting this on your blog, aren’t you?

Me: Nooooooo, of cooouuuurse not…..

I can’t really make fun of him…..when I was eight, I thought the line in Part of you World “Bright young women, Sick Of swimming…” was “Breasted women, Sick of swimming…”
It’s genetic though… my Gran didn’t know the words to ANY song and made them all up as she went along. For example, when singing the song Way We Were, she used to say “Lovely chocolate-covered memories”

23 Comments

Filed under Daily Update., Movies, Music

23 responses to “And now the dudes are lining up cause they hear we got swagger

  1. Suz

    hahaha I thought that line was “pregnant women…sick of swimming”

  2. It’s not chocolate covered memories?!

  3. i am sooo like this! my sister goes crazy because i never know the lyrics to songs. like in Robyn’s song when it goes “you never will, you never will be mine” I sing it “you nuppa will oh you nuppa will be linnnne”

  4. love the photos!
    and well, my favorite is when the Pussaycat dolls sings “I want to have groupies” in When I Grow Up….. was I the only person who thought they were saying “I want to have boobies”?

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  5. @tracy – i always thought that too…until i just read your comment 😐

  6. For years, one of my friends thought the Slipknot song ‘Left Behind’ was called ‘Lovely Eyes’.

  7. Hahahahaha!!! That made me laugh 😀

    x

  8. emilycross

    LOL, I’m the exact same!!

    Pfff to lyrics, tis so much fun making up your own 🙂

  9. It’s okay. I totally thought “Rock the Casbah” was something about the CATBOX until that commercial came out making fun of people who didn’t know the lyrics.

    Whoops.

  10. My sister use to think that the song ‘it only take a minute girl’ by take that was actually ‘it’s only salt and vinegar’!

  11. Kar

    I only hear ‘sexy fish’ when Akon’s singing about sexy chicks (or b!tches, depending on your radio edit). Clearly I know those aren’t the lyrics, but still, I hear it every time!

  12. I absolutely LOVE commonly misheard lyrics. The husband and I get into all sorts of talks about what a song is really saying or what songs we’ve misheard for years and years.

  13. I have two fairly epic lyrical flubs: I thought “Whoomp, there it is” was “Whoomp, bad ass,” and that “Ooh aah, push it” was “Oooh aah, bullshit.” The ’90s weren’t good to me.

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

