The GMLSP Project

Yeah I know….wow right??

I think everyone was beginning to think the Purpose Project was No More.

I guess with the things that were happening in my life over the last few months, it became difficult to find the motivation to persue the project!
I have ticked off a few items on the list (such as the movie one) and just didn’t blog about them.

But looking at the results of the survey you lovely people took part in, a good few readers wanted me to do some more Purpose things and feeling guilty, I felt I owed you a BIG one.

You guys love the humiliation!

So here I am….performing a song that I wrote myself.
*cringe*
I’d like to STRESS that I am well aware of the fact that I am not blessed with wonderful vocal talents (hence the reason I was in the back during Musicals and Pantos) and while I can write, I can’t write songs and I’m not great at rhyming.

To make it a little more interesting, I set myself an hour time limit in which I could write, learn and record the song.
Sorry about the poor quality…I had to record it on my camera and the video sound isn’t great and always sounds staticy, for some reason….you can still enough to laugh at it though!!
The song was inspired by THIS old post of mine.

So here we go….

EDIT: Yeah I meant to explain in this post why there was a guitar in the video. I bought a guitar years ago, thinking I’d learn to play it ….and then didn’t.
Initially, I’d planned on just plucking one string over and over again during the song, but I just really didn’t have enough co-ordination for that …and then I just felt cool holding a guitar like that Swedish girl in the Eurovision who brought the guitar out and never played it and then it just disappeared halfway through the performance.
Consequently, if any instrument-playing person would like to write music for my wonderful *cough cough* song, feel free to record it and send it my way and I can combine it….I won’t judge the sadness of your life if you care enough to do that….I swear πŸ˜€
Also apologies for the constant fringe-fixing….it’s a bit too long right now and blinds me, but I’m cutting it later today!

41 Comments

Filed under The Giving My Life Some Purpose Project

41 responses to “The GMLSP Project

  1. theboywhofoundfear

    Brilliant!!! Love Love Love it… never heard you sing so much in my life! always stayed fairly quiet in choir… Lyrics were deadly! pretty hilarious all round… Bravo Bravo Bravissimo!!

    Currently Using your GMLSP project for ideas to GMLSP…. Come up with some sort of interest to pursue!

    Loved it!

  2. I think you sing great πŸ™‚

  3. sinead rural

    h a ha ha ha ha Catherine that was amazing.!!!! I loved that the guitar was in your hand the whole time but you never used it.!!!!

  4. Orange juice IS overrated (and it makes you shrivell up if you have it after brushing your teeth)…i just giggled my way throught the song the lyrics are perfect πŸ™‚

    Love love love,

    Erin

    x

  5. The sound was a kinda fuzzy so it was a little hard understanding the lyrics but your voice was great! really :)!

    I like your hair, btw!

    -Livi-

  6. Kar

    Love the lyrics!
    “I know its something deep like Avril or the Jonas Brothers you’re listening too”

    Genius!

  7. Kat

    ah wow! brilliant! i loved that original post about you and the mild case of ‘stalking’..but i think the song just makes the whole thing! well impressed!

  8. i’ve been a silent reader for a while but this is making me break that – brilliant, hilarious!

  9. Wow I love seeing bloggers that I have followed for ages in “real life”. It’s weird! Your accent is cool. You are really good at singing!
    x

    • Awh thanks….yeah I’ve an odd accent….it’s sometimes very ‘Dublin’ sounding and then other times I’ll sound a bit posh and then I’ll have a very American-sounding sentence thrown in there….I’m a mess, lol!

  10. Well well well m’dear. It seems that you really do have balls of steel

    WELL DONE YOU! You have a lovely voice so don’t be thinking you handed over your dignity or anything. I’m very proud of you!

  11. Ah. Computer lab love affairs. So one sided. So semi-stalker-ish. But so exciting. Henry Grattan’s first floor labs were the scene of several total NON-moments between me and ‘Shoulders’ as I affectionately named him.

    I assure you though, if I were to compose a song and post it for public consumption, I would cause widespread distress not to mention the untoward embarrassment to myself.

    But Hermia, you can sing! And write songs too, by the sounds of it. πŸ™‚ well done!

    Peace x

    • No way!!! That’s the EXACT SAME PLACE mine happened!!! That lonely room computer room at the end of the rooms!

      • Yes, C104alldlonelygirls I think they called it… ‘Shoulders’ caught me glancing over at him over the screens of waaaaay to many half-finished assignments. I never spoke to him. But if I had a euro for every smile I gave him….well let’s just say the Topshop shoe section would be getting a few visits.

        My ‘love’ ended with my JR degree in 2009. Did you ever speak to computer lab boy?!

        • Lol yeah…he was involved in a programme that I was in and a few years ahead of me, so we had spoken and even swapped numbers….but I hadn’t a CLUE how to deal with boys at that stage (I was a late social bloomer, lol) and since I didn’t have the confidence to approach him, I just kept turning up randomly in places I knew he’d be hoping something would happen….but I think I just succeeded in scaring him and he sorta stopped talking to me….also he got himself a girlfriend, so….
          *shame* I swear I’m not that insane anymore….twas an out-of-character few months *cough* πŸ˜€

          • emilycross

            Hmmmm I must drop into Henry Gratton now and see what this is all about πŸ˜‰

            You’ve a great voice!!

            Well done πŸ™‚

  12. “I felt that your eyes were on me. They weren’t.”

    Story of my life!

    Fiercely talented woman aren’t ya! Well done πŸ™‚

  13. Eve

    Bravo! And can I just say how much a LOVE irish accents!

  14. How you wrote, sang and recorded that in 1 hour is beyond me! Brilliance! You can blog AND sing… not fair!
    My daily entertainment, as usual! X

  15. Hermia for next years Eurovision…a duet with Jeward. You sing they dance!!!!! awh so nice to hear your voice again x Fingers crossed I’ll manage a trip to Dublin in about a fortnight x

  16. Well done you! That took some guts πŸ™‚

  17. I can’t WAIT to get home and hear this! Then we can exchange songwriting perspectives and go drinking in really dingy bars in Eastern Europe!

    • Lol, I don’t want to get your hopes up there…..it’s pretty awful!…..although I suppose it’s HILARIOUSLY awful…..at least I hope it’s hilariously awful….it’s just sad/bad awful then that’s really awful…

  18. Your skeeelz and overall adorable-ness is blinding, lady πŸ™‚

  19. You’re SO adorable! More adorable than I could have ever imagined myself. And your voice is sweet too! Be a dear and write out the song lyrics. (I’m at work trying to press myself against my speakers to make out the words without being to loud or conspicuous. πŸ˜› )

  20. pantsareforsquares

    well done…that took guts! πŸ™‚

  21. You are adorable and this is awesome! Kudos to you! I can’t carry a tune to save my life and am always in awe of people who can!

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

