Elles passent en un instant comme fanent les roses

So I’m back!
Yay!
Unless you liked my wonderful guest bloggers more than me and are now terribly disappointed that I’ll be taking back over.
I wouldn’t blame you.
Those girls are awesome!

So Paris.
Paris was great.
And I fully intend to tell you guys allllllll about it.
But right now I have a far more pressing matter to discuss.
It’s pretty serious.
And life-changing.
And all-consuming.
And deep.

My hair.

Guys, I just got back from the hairdressers and my poor hair is ruined.
I thought I’d found a great hairdresser about a year ago and the first two times I went she cut my hair perfectly and instructed her mini-person to colour my hair naturally and nice.

And then the last time I went, her mini-person tore the head off me and gave me orange tiger stripes down my head.
And this time, she dyed my hair a dye-black even though I’ve specified A MILLION TIMES that black dye is always obviously a black dye and is too harsh for my colouring.
(I do have black hair, but it’s a natural soft black that dyes just can’t seem to get right).
And then she cut my hair too short.
And cut my fringe.
And looked annoyed when I tried to fix my fringe the way it’s supposed to be.
Which is a Thick Retro Bangs kinda look.
And I then realised she’d cut HALF my fringe and it’s now too short and thinned out.

It’s a disaster.

I am very, very upset.

The Boy received a tearful phonecall while in the airport a couple of hours ago.
(He’s off to the South of France for ten days with his family)
(I declined my invite. I hate the heat. Bleeeeeurgh.)
(Plus I also couldn’t get the time off work, so I couldn’t have gone if I wanted to.)
(I feel abandoned.)

So rant over, can you Dubliners/Dublin-goers recommend any decent hairdressers who can respect a retro-esque haircut and will listen to me?

24 Comments

Filed under Daily Update., Music

24 responses to “Elles passent en un instant comme fanent les roses

  1. Finding a decent hairdresser is like finding the one. I found mine. Further afield than Dublin unfortunately though! Agree with black hair dye, it rarely looks natural. Welcome back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fun post! Can’t wait to hear about Paris! It was one of my favorite places so far.

  3. I just saw you linked me and wanted to say thanks. I’m loving the pictures on your blog. I hope your hair dilemma sorts itself out soon ๐Ÿ™‚ LolaDee

  4. i hate it when that happens! what’s the matter with them??? why won’t them respect your own style?!!????
    the same happened to my some months ago with my fringe and I has felt like ages until it has looked nice again!! damn

    hope you hair grows fast!!

    xxx

  5. Glad you are back, can’t wait to hear all about Paris..

    Now the hair I hate when I get a bad haircut, but true is after a few days seems nicer, lol.

  6. jem

    Oh my goodness, I am so sorry that this happened to you. Its the worst when a hair stylists messes up your look, I don’t understand how they don’t know how to follow directions. You tell them exactly what you want but then they totally disregard what you say. Although, at least your hair will grow back (bangs especially tend to grow quite fast). ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Wow im falling inlove with your blogs, they are awesome

  8. Welcome back! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And Gosh, finding someone who understands retro (and is also a hairdresser) might be difficult. I’ve actually never seen a hairdresser with hair I’d like to have myself…. I feel your pain. x

  9. Ah scald Miss Hermia! I go to Halo on Lower Stephen Street, they always do a great job on my fringe and may be able to help you out.

  10. I hate it when that happens! My hair has also recently been butchered- I suspect for “fun”. I think foul play was involved. Since when does “Can I just have a trim, I’m trying to grow it” mean “CUT IT ALL OFF!!!!”. I was fuming, to annoyed to cry. I have to move hairdressers too, I honestly think if i set eyes on the woman who massacred my hair again, I’ll do a murder.

  11. Ugh, I hate it when hairdressers do a really bad job. I remember once I got a really, really bad cut and when I got home my mam asked me why I didn’t just walk out without paying. But I don’t have the heart!
    I can’t find a hairdresser that doesn’t cut my fringe too short, so for about a week I look like the woman off that ‘I slipped and seriously injured knee while letting loads of crap fall out of my bag’ add.
    And you’re so lucky to have gone to Paris, it must be gorgeous! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    xoxo

  12. Oh no, this is horrible! At least hair grows back. At least she didn’t shave your head by accident! Ugh.

  13. so frustrating! it took me FIVE tries in kansas city before i finally found my angelhairdresser nancy haha. good luck!

  14. hey,

    why don’t you post soem pics of your de-haired self, so that we can atleast give some tips about damage control..?? sorry about the nasty hairdresser though!

  15. I want to see your hair! I want to get a haircut too…
    But then I am supposed to be growing it out

    Welcome back, love!

  16. Oh Herms! It’s so good to have you back but oh no!! Your poor hair. Did you try Style Club on South William Street, Dearan in there is amazing and totally patient and does wonders with my fringe. Plus he’s super nice too!
    So, feeling your pain, what is that about when hairdressers get annoyed when you try and do your OWN hair the way you want it! (Shouty expletive deleted).

  17. Go to Queen on Aungier St. and ask for Julie. She works one day a week there so you need to make an appointment. She’s a wizard and has a brown labrador called Jami that she brings everywhere with her. In fact… anyone in Queen is pretty awesome at cutting hair.

  18. Oh that totally happend to me the other day as well… I didnt get tiger stripes but my hairdresser cut my hair like she was on drungs.. Im serious.. put a fishbowl over your head and cut the hair that sticks out and you got it like…

  19. Welcome back m’dear! ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Oh you poor thing! I dont trust any hairdressers, Peter Marks is probably the worst though!

  21. PeacockWings

    I had found my ideal hairdresser had used her for years but now she has had a baby and decided not to continue to do hair dressing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so back to the chalkboard for me.
    I have dyed black hair however.. many people can’t believe how real it looks on me . ๐Ÿ˜€
    But then again I do dye my own hair-just can’t cut my own hair ๐Ÿ˜€

  22. Oh that’s the worst – when a trused hairsylist screws up your hair!

  23. Oh no!!! I am very picky about my hair – several times a tiny trim turned into 5 inches off. Other times I’ve just asked for a few blonde highlights and have come out totally blonde! Eeep! Have a great hairdresser at the moment but she’s in Waterford.
    In Dublin I like Christian in Brown Sugar (but they’re soooo expensive!) and Nadine in House of Colour (Ha’Penny Bridge) is one of the best cutters I’ve ever been to!
    x

  24. Welcome back Hermia…..we missed you!….and you need to link your posts to Facebook again so I can stay up to date girl!

    Oh deary deary deary me…..the hair thing again…..I know this is a sensitive subject for you so I am terribly sorry and feel your pain ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    On the up side….it does grow again and the colour can be fixed. Why don’t you set a challenge out there to all the local hair salons and make a big deal blog about it….see who can put you back together again and dry your eyes….make it their problem girl.

    Otherwise looking forward to your Paris news….I’m very green
    x

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

