The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 6

In this installment, we see pre-teen Hermia out of her innocent depths after starting secondary school. She also might be psychotically obsessed with David…again…

16th October 1999

Dear Diary,
I can’t remember the last time I wrote. I guess I’ve been busy with school. I’m really enjoying it. My favourite subjects so far are History with Ms Collis, Maths with Mrs King and Home Ec with Mrs Leahy. Here are the girls the girls I’ve made friends with: Annie, Helen, Laura, Lisa, Melanie and Alison. I hate Carol (who went to my primary school) cos she’s taking Annie away from me. She’s also taking Helen, but I don’t care about her because she’s a bitch. There’s this girl called Barbara who is disgusting. She asked me if I’d ever seen a guy’s “dick”, so I said yeah and she asked were and I said on TV and Helen and Carol started laughing. But I know Carol is a Frigite* so I don’t know why she was laughing. So then Barbara asks if I’m a Frigite and I say no and she asks how many guys I’ve met* and I said about 15 or 16. And Helen and Carol start laughing again and Helen says “I kiss more boys than that in a DAY”. Barbara said, “shut up at least she’s honest”. I haven’t kissed any boys before but I didn’t want to say because they already make fun of me for not knowing about that stuff and they’d never stop if they thought I was a Frigite.
I better go,
Hermia

17th October 1999

Dear Diary,
I love David with a passion.
I tried to like Simon, but I couldn’t stop like David. I wasn’t getting a response or vibe from David so I tried to stop, but I love him so badly. I couldn’t stand not liking him and I realised how much I loved him. I want to tell him. You’ve no idea how much I want to tell him. I love him more than I’ve ever loved anyone, even Tom from when I was 10. I just wish with all my heart that he’d love me even half as much as I heart him. But there’s one thing standing in the way…
Clare.
Me and Penny think they’ve started dating.
But I’m not sure yet.
Oh I have to go now,
Hermia

Dictionary:
Frigite=Dublin slang in the late nineties for a girl who was ‘frigid’, ie: hadn’t kissed a guy
Met=Dublin slang meaning ‘kissed’

18 Comments

Filed under Diary of a Pre-Teen

18 responses to “The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 6

  1. My favourite entry so far!

    Although I have to say, I thought your friends were laughing because you’d made up a ridiculously high number. Little surprised when it turned out to be because it was too low. Whenever I had to lie about that stuff I always said 2. No wonder I wasn’t one of the cool kids… 😛

  2. “I love him more than I’ve ever loved anyone, even Tom from when I was 10.” Just lol.

    That whole post brought my early teens back to me with a bang. I remember looking up ‘frigit’ in the dictionary and not finding it and being utterly devastated that my best friend (the dictionary) had let me down.

    Ah, to be 12 again.

  3. Haha!!! Ah remember the days of lying about having kissed boys -15 or 16… gas! I remember it seemed like everyone in the world had kissed a boy by 12… Then we’d all say… Oh well I kissed this guy on holidays once… clearly fibs!
    Also major lol like Ais for “I love him more than I’ve ever loved anyone, even Tom from when I was 10.”!!!! I was the same – always in ‘love’ with somebody!
    x

  4. baaahaa – FRIGIT! is that word even used anymore i wonder?? oh to be an innocent 12 year old again, well, im not sure about innocent but we were a hell of a lot more innocent than 12 year old these days! Christ i sound old 😦

    .x.

  5. Eve

    Poor love forsaken you! Haha. And I love the slang words! I’ve never heard either!

  6. oh this is tooooo funny hermia. the honesty is so enchanting!
    jen

  7. ena

    bahahahah stealing friends was the bane of my life in 1st year. I still feel abit protactive of my childhood friends when they get new ‘cool’ friends that i dont know.

    u sound like a bit of a 12 year old whore tho, throwing all that love around, keep it in your pants hermia, i was a lady at 12, didnt meet anyone till i was 13, classy i know!

  8. Frigit! Ah that takes me back! The lies outta me 🙂

    Loving that this David obsession is back! True love fo sho 🙂

  9. That post just took me back to my diary-keeping, pre-teen years. Funny how kids can live entire continents apart and still sound the same!

  10. Oh Frigit! We had that phrase in Limerick too. One of my favourite pieces if slang. Lets take this perfectly jane austen sounding adjective and make it into the most awful sounding midget like noun. Frigits like us had it bad in first year!

    mollylovesdrawing.blogspot.com

  11. I am loving these diary entries so much and this one reminded me of the crush I had when I was around 12. I was determined I was going to marry him and have his babies and live happily ever after. In retrospect, it seems pretty silly!

  12. AKC

    brilliant! god i hated being a frigite so much.. thank god for suttonians haha! xx

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

