Conversations with The Boy

*On the 49 Bus heading into town with The Boy*
Me: *looking at two little blonde girls…not in a creepy way* Wouldn’t it be weird if we had blonde kids?
The Boy: Not really. I was blonde when I was a kid.
Me: Yeah but you’ve dark hair now and I have black hair, so I think it would be really weird. I mean, if the nurse handed me a blonde baby, I’d be like, Who did I have an affair with?
The Boy: Ha!
Me: I just think that genetically it would be weird. My family are all black or dark haired ppl, most of your family are brunettes. Even if you had a recessive fair-haired gene, I don’t think I’d have one so black kicks ass!
The Boy: Yeah I suppose.
Me: They’d probably have your dark eyes too. I’m pretty sure brown is a dominant eye colour.
The Boy: *looks bemused*
Me: Leaving Cert Biology finally came in handy!
The Boy: Oh right.
Me: Hopefully they’d have your straight hair and not my fuzz!
The Boy: Well as long as they had your brains, I’d be happy.
Me: HA! Yeah right, you just pretty kids. Them having your looks would make you happy.
The Boy: *grins* Yeah.
Me: My brains and your looks -they’d be SUPER kids!
The Boy: Absolutely! I’d be so proud!
Me: ….you know we’re probably going to have really stupid hideous-looking tiny blonde children with blue eyes that keep running into walls, right?
The Boy: Ha, yeah.
Me: ….that’d be disappointing. All that being pregnant work for hideous-looking, stupid kids.
The Boy: God, yeah.
Me: What if we have hideous-looking kids!?
The Boy: Don’t worry, we can have a practice kid and if it turns out like that, we won’t have anymore.
Me: We can just adopt pretty babies?
The Boy: Yes we can *hugs Me*

20 Comments

Filed under Conversations with The Boy and Guests, Daily Update.

20 responses to “Conversations with The Boy

  1. he’s too cute..and so are you!

  2. hahaha we can have a practice kid… lol that’s sooo funny.
    My hubby and I are always talking about which traits our kids will have based on recessive and dominant genes lol

  3. Jules

    HAHAHAHAHA!!

    your posts with the boy are so HILARIOUS!!!!! I especially love it when you say that you want a practice kid – so funny!

    and trust me, your kids WILL be gorgeous – you will instantly fall in love with them when you first clap your eyes on them! (at least that what happens with most people!) x

  4. Awwww, how sweet.

    When he said have a practice kid, I thought he was gonna say “and sure if we don’t like it, we can give it away…” Luckily he didn’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

    you’ll only see your own children as gorgeous, and you wont care what anyone else thinks or says. x

  5. Eve

    HAHAHHA. A practice kid! The solution to all of life’s problems! hahahha

  6. Ahahahaha. Splendid post there. (I’m trying to bring back ‘Splendid’). A practice kid is an inspired idea.

  7. Brilliant! These are all the thoughts going through my head at the moment! I keep thinking the kid is going to either get the worst aspects of both of us or a weird mix of the two! Half my family are Native American and are very, very dark skinned and he has a lot of ginger in his family. Not sure how either of us would react to the mix of a red headed ‘brown’ baby! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Conor

    Makes me glad I have a younger sister. Obviously I was a good practice kid ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Aww, poor practice kid!

    xx

  10. This story is too cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Awww… cute.
    and so lovely.
    u sure are lucky!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Bahahaha – love it! I really wish I could have a practice kid, just for a bit, to see if I could handle it.

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....

