I am Her and She is Me

How do we choose our girl crushes?

I had a friend who was obsessed with Alexa Chung.
At the time, I was pretty clueless about indie celebs and if they weren’t plastered all over billboards, then I’d probably never heard of them.
When I eventually got around to looking up this Chung character, I found myself looking at someone who wasn’t all that dissimilar to my friend.
They had hair that was similar in colour and shape, the same pretty tomboy style, same unusually attractive faces.
The friend had been this way before I knew of her Alexa obsession, so I was pretty certain that the likeness wasn’t down to copycat-dom.
Coincidence then?

I’m a doubter.
I think we pick these crushes because we see these girls as the ‘better’ versions of ourselves -the people we could be if we had slightly nicer genes, more money, well-connected parents or a few lucky breaks.

You all know that I worship at the feet of Zooey Deschanel.
We have a similar retro vibe with our hairstyles,  clothing choices (well, more my wish list choices due to a lack of funds) and our taste in music.
She is who I’d like to think I could be.
The Me in life’s dimmed lighting.

It’s a comfort to think that if all my flaws and failures were wiped away (and if I had her cute features, quirky charm, oozing talent and hypnotic charisma of course), I could be her.
She’s the perfected version of who I’ve aimed to be.
And while I struggle in the marshy pit of inadequacy, I can look to her and she gives me hope.

So what do you think?
Is there more to your girl crushes than mere admiration?

25 Comments

Filed under General Observations

25 responses to “I am Her and She is Me

  1. emmm your friend got a number?

  2. Hmmm interesting! At first I scoffed at the thought I could ever be similar in any way to my beloved Katy Perry ❤ But now that I think about it, if I was super awesome, and a popstar, and talented, I'd aspire to be her for sure….
    Interesting food for thought 🙂 xxx

  3. Hmm. I think I’d like the wardrobe of Katy Perry but the face of Audrey Tatou or Marion Coittillard

  4. great post!!!

    I’d love to have andrea corr’s look any day with madonna’s/kylie’s 80s fashion sense!

    now I really need to dye my hair dark brown/red…!!!

    xx

  5. eh, hmmm, well… on the one hand, i def. think you’re on to something… on the other, i’m not so sure… in addition to being a fan of britney (don’t judge!), altely i’ve also had a thing for jessie j, and i don’t look anything like either of them. in fact, i can’t think of any resemblance… although, one could always wish for a bit of britney’s money, and jessie’s attitude 😉

  6. An ex kept denying that she looked like Alexa Chung, even if the comparison was absent.

    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with girl-crushes though. Everyone likes someone to look up to. Man-crushes are based solely on whether or not you think he’d be up for a pint with you.

  7. I think your the girl Deschanel would like to be x

  8. Uhh I love Zooey too! but i can never decide on a girl crush they seem to be fleeting romances x

  9. I have a major girl crush on the girl who plays Sarah on the TV show “Chuck.” I think it’s because I’ve always secretly wanted to be a spy 🙂 I’ll never be as cool as her, though…*sigh*

  10. I could totally be Sofia Vergara if I was Colombian and a smokin’ hot ride.

  11. How very astute of you to notice – and I do believe that this musing is true. My girl crush is Sara Ramírez (Callie from Greys Anatomy) – I too have thick dark curls, firm curves, and a sassy attitude… now all I need is to have Mark Sloane (but not the pregnancy or the inappropriate bursting into song)

  12. My girl crushes are Kate Bosworth, Rachel Bilson and Olivia Palermo so I dont know what that says about me!!!

  13. Miss Sasha

    I don’t know if there are more to girl crushes or not I think you’ve given a pretty good explaination of it yourself. I feel like I need to write to say that you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. We admire celebrities because we don’t know them, if we did it would become quite clear that they are as human as the rest of us. I think I should also mention that I have a bit of a girl crush on you…not in a creepy sort of way or anything just that I think your writing is nothing short of amazing.

  14. Boycrushes are easy, its a simple ‘Jon Hamm?’ yeah Jon Hamm

  15. I’ve never thought about girl crushes like this, but I think you’re absolutely right.

  16. spot on. katy perry…can i be you?

  17. Holly

    Lisa Origliasso is mine.

    • Holly

      It’s weird because I never thought about it that way before.

      I mean I have the biggest girl crush on her ever. LOL.

      The weird thing is people have actually commented that I look just like her – except my nose is a bit bigger than hers. Hur hur. And also she’s a lot skinnier than me. But I like her because she is dark with pale skin and so cute. I can kind of relate to her look because it’s quite individual.

      If you take Lisa’s debut photos with my sans makeup face, it’s kinda creepy how similar we look.
      So it’s because of her I try to copy her gorgeous clothes and makeup, Hell I even started going to the gym to get somewhere near her figure. She is basically the ‘improved’ version of myself. So yeah I can look up to her and use her as inspiration. In a positive way :))

  18. You know, that sounds pretty spot on.

    Kate x

  19. you cant beat olivia palermo!!! not her personality though, just her face, her hair, her clothes, her bones! if i met her in the street i think i might just turn to mush!

  20. Angelina, Kate Moss, Olivia Palermo (but like skinni peach just her looks!) oh & Giselle…..ah too many, I can’t decide!! x

  21. Think you’re dead right!
    x

G'wan....you know you've got something to say....